Pieman Road, Zeehan
Both the power station and the dam are named in honour of Eric Reece, the Premier of Tasmania between 1958 and 1969 and again between 1972 and 1975. Eric Reece was an enthusiastic proponent of hydro electricity development in Tasmania
The power station was commissioned in 1986 and 1987.
The drive across the Dam is unique providing wonderful views of the surrounding areas and the Dam Wall.